New Year, New Museum, New Blog! (corny, but somewhat fitting title for my first blog post:)

the New Museum of Contemporary Art

the New Museum of Contemporary Art (it was dark when I left the museum, so this isn’t a stellar representation of the building’s shiny white facade)

Last week I visited the New Museum of Contemporary Art, which reopened in a new building on the Bowery at the end of 2007.  This was my second visit to the museum.  During my first visit I was unimpressed by the art, but I liked the roof top balcony and found the crowd interesting.  I had never seen so many people in skinny jeans in one place.  I also spotted Fran Lebowitz in the elevator (I’m not a huge fan, but celeb sightings are always fun!).

On my recent trip I went to see the Elizabeth Peyton show, which is on view until January 11.  The exhibit is a survey of her work and features mostly watercolors of friends/celebrities from the rock music and art worlds.  Her first show was at the Chelsea Hotel, and a lot of the portraits are of people who are associated with the hotel.

The one thing I didn’t like about the show was that the portraits are not framed.  I understand that this was intentional, but I thought the works would have looked more finished with something around them.  I found it interesting that Peyton paints a lot from photographs.

I recommend the show because the portraits are beautiful.  I would love to commission a painting from Peyton one day!

7th fl./balcony

7th fl./balcony (you can’t see the balcony here, which was closed because of inclement weather, but the views are AMAZING)

Paper chair

Paper chair

Funny packaging at the concession stand/bar

Funny packaging at the concession stand/bar

Concession stand/bar

Concession stand/bar

Prices seemed high to me, but I guess that's not surprising

Prices seemed a little high to me, but I guess that’s not surprising

narrow staircase

Narrow staircase

Fun sign

Fun sign!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “New Year, New Museum, New Blog! (corny, but somewhat fitting title for my first blog post:)

  1. oh my god, great first post! I have to update my blog.

  2. roseofbohemia

    Hi Melissa! Thank you so much! I was honored to see I was added to your blog roll. Just out of curiosity, does 1365 stand for something?

  3. liz

    hey shane! i am so excited to discover that you have an up-and-running blog!! and i love this 🙂 i am going to be one of your regulars, i can already tell.

    p.s. i love these pics… keep them coming, hehe.

Leave a Reply

