12 Days in Paris: Day 10

BONJOUR MES AMIS!  It seems a bit absurd to still be posting about a trip from six months ago, but I blog slowly and some recent events necessitated a break.  I am back now and in the interest of completion, I will finish the last three days of the Paris trip series, with an extra special fun post at the end (think French fashion trend spotting!).

Day ten followed a relaxed schedule as I started the day at the Petit Palais.  The Petit Palais is a beautiful Beaux-Arts building that was built for the Universal Exhibition of 1900 and now houses the Paris Museum of Fine Arts.  Admission to the museum is free, although I paid extra to see a photo show.  I must have been really tired that day because I forgot to photograph the Petit Palais and instead photographed the Grand Palais (a grander Beaux-Arts building across the street that was also built for the Universal Exhibition of 1900 and also shows changing exhibits).

Grand Palais

After the exhibition, I walked along the fashionable Rue du Faubourg Saint Honore, which is the Paris equivalent of Madison Avenue (in addition to nearby Avenue Montaigne).  I read in my Timeout guide about Jean-Paul Hévin, an upscale chocolate store that specializes in cheese-filled chocolates, and I decided to go there to buy gifts for my family friends and my parents.  Although the chocolate-cheeses sounded a bit odd, I figured if they were the specialty, they had to be decent.  I was wrong about this…

Window of Jean-Paul Hévin

Weird cheese-filled chocolates (the fact that this box sat in my house for several months until being chucked following this photo says something about their popularity or lack thereof)

I walked from Saint Honore to the Madeline, a famous church surrounded by Paris’ most well known and upscale specialty food shops (Fauchon and Hediard).  I went into the church and then browsed some of the shops, which sold beautifully packaged luxury food products, exotic fruits, teas, etc…

Colorful fruit display at Hediard

From the Madeline, I took the subway to Notre-Dame-de-Lorette to pick up Moroccan glasses for my mother (this is a ritual that is done on every trip, since we are continually breaking glasses and only one store has the specific pattern we collect).  I was not very familiar with the area, but I knew I was near the original location of the Rose Bakery and since I liked the Marais location so much, I wanted to try it.  The minimalist decor and interesting people watching were similar.  I ordered a pizzette with side salads and once again the food was delicious!

Market fresh produce at the entrance of the Rose Bakery

Pizzette at the Rose Bakery

In the afternoon I went back to my friend’s apartment in the 10th arrondissement to drop off my purchases and then met up with Véronique and Jacqueline for a pick me up.  They took me to a lovely outdoor cafe in the nearby House of Architecture.  I ordered grapefruit juice because I wanted something different and had never had it before (I realize grapefruit juice is available in the US, it’s just not something I usually drink).  I may have also ordered it because pamplemousse (grapefruit) is the funniest French word to me…hehe.  The drink was a bit bitter for my taste, but the bobo (bourgeois bohemian) people watching was even better than that at the Rose Bakery.

Friends with Coke and pamplemousse (grapefruit) juice

House of Architecture Cafe

We spent the rest of the afternoon walking around the Canal St. Martin and had an informal dinner at a family friend’s apartment.  After dinner, Monica and I went to a nearby bar where we met some UNESCO interns and then hung out with them along the Canal St. Martin.  Unfortunately I did not take a photo, but after dusk the canal turned into the hottest spot in town.  Picture groups of friends camped out on picnic blankets with booze, refreshments, etc…

I am scared of American motorcycles, but for some reason Vespas are very appealing to me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “12 Days in Paris: Day 10

  1. Nico

    That fruit looks DELICIOUS! Mmm….

Leave a Reply

