There’s more to Orlando than Mickeyland (Part II of II)

On our way to brunch in New Smyrna Beach we drove through Cassadaga, which is nicknamed the “Psychic Capitol of the World.”  Even though I am not a big believer in psychics, I was intrigued, so we stopped and I took some photos.  The town has lots of medium/psychic shops, a hotel, and a spiritualist camp.  The main street is even called “Spiritualist Street.”

Colorful psychic storefronts

Kind of curious about psychic therapy...

On Saint Patrick’s Day we ate at the Swamp, which is a fun alligator-themed restaurant.  There were lots of fake alligators at the entrance and they actually served gator meat.  The restaurant is known for fish, so I ordered catfish with vegetables and hushpuppies because I had never had them before.  My friends also ordered fried pickles to start because they wanted me to try a Southern specialty.

Fried pickles

Catfish, hush puppies, string beans and mushrooms

The back of the Swamp restaurant

On my last full day in Florida, we went out to brunch at the Old Spanish Sugar Mill restaurant in DeLeon Springs state park.  The restaurant features grills on every table where you can cook your own pancakes.  I’ve been to several Japanese restaurants where you cook your own food, but I had never seen this pancake style.  I LOVED it!  We ordered pancakes and some toppings for the table and were given two batters (one white, one multigrain).  I also ordered iced coffee and was brought an entire pitcher.  They are very big on drinks in Florida!  Haha.  After brunch we went on a hike in the state park, which was lovely.

Old Spanish Sugar Mill Restaurant (as suggested by the name, the restaurant is in a former sugar mill)

Make your own pancakes!

DeLeon Springs State Park

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “There’s more to Orlando than Mickeyland (Part II of II)

  1. You are an amazing photographer — I love the shot of the St. John River at twilight! Right now, I’m craving those fried pickles;-)

Leave a Reply

